Davenport wins individual crown,
while Sauquoit claims team title at
CSC Medalist Tournament
                                          June 1

CLINTON - Fresh off the disappointment
of missing the cut by one stroke at last
week's Section III Tournament, West
Canada Valley's Bobby Davenport ended
his freshman season in style.

Davenport shot a 3-over-par 75 to win
the Center State Conference
Tournament's individual competition
Friday at Skenandoa Golf Club.

"It was tough," said Davenport, of missing
out on a chance to play for a spot in the
state tournament. " But it's fun to come
back and win here."

Davenport defeated Sauquoit Valley's
Trevor Hash by three strokes.
Frankfort-Schuyler's Dante Migliore was
third after posting 79. Canastota's Ian
Campbell and Ilion's Dan North each
posted 81s to tie for fourth.

Hash teamed with fellow senior Ryan
Stalker to post a two-man total of 160 to
give Sauquoit Valley its first team
competition victory since 2003.

Both Hash and Stalker plan on playing
some golf in college and enjoyed their
high school careers and the way it ended.

"It's great to finish off like this," Stalker
said. "No one really thinks much about
Sauquoit golf anymore. It's nice to make
some news."

Hash also mentioned another reason
why it's special to get this win.

"It feels good to go out and get a big win
for coach (Greg Bushinger)," Hash said.
"We have been driving him nuts for the
past three years, and to end our careers
like this is great."

Frankfort-Schuyler finished second with
a 162 total. Herkimer (167), West
Canada Valley (168) and Ilion (171)
rounded out the top five.

Davenport credited his putting in earning
him the win.

"My irons and wedges are my strength,"
Davenport said. "Today I made a lot of

"It was fun playing against good players
and beating some kids that are three or
four years older than me," said
Davenport, who is 14.

Now with a big win under his belt,
Davenport is already looking ahead to
next season.

"I want to make the state team next year,"
said Davenport.

CSC Medalist Tourney Champions
Individual Champions
2012: Bobby Davenport (West Canada)
2011: Dan North (Ilion)
2010: Cody Homer (Mount Markham)
2009: Dan Reese (Ilion)
2008: Craig Smith (Remsen)
2007: Joe Horrigan (Cooperstown)
2006: Brandon Britton (Sherburne)
2005: Chris Marcellus (Hamilton)
2004: Nick Feinberg (Cooperstown)
2003: Mason Swancott (Adirondack)
2002: Todd Czepiel (Adirondack)
2001: Keith Tyburski (Hamilton)
2000: Todd Czepiel (Adirondack)
1999: Brett Bushinger (Sauquoit Valley)
1998: John Pezdek (Ilion)
1997: John Pezdek (Ilion)

Team Champions
2012: Sauquoit Valley
(Ryan Stalker-Trevor Hash) 160
2011: Ilion (Dan Reese - Dan North) 150
2010: Ilion (Dan Reese - Dan North) 162
2009: Ilion (Dan Reese - Dan North) 166
2008: Remsen (Craig Smith - Keith Smith)
2007: Westmoreland (Taylor Brockway -
Matt Ferdinand) 155
2006: Sherburne-Earlville (Brandon
Britton - Corey Fitzgerald) 151
2005: West Canada Valley (Marc Burling -
James Wiley) 156
2004: Old Forge (Rick Sutton - Jesse
Isensee) 152
2003: Sauquoit Valley (Nick Spinella -
Paul Reid) 157
2002: Adirondack (Todd Czepiel - Mason
Swancott) 144
2001: Adirondack (Todd Czepiel - Jeremy
Youngs) 156
2000: Adirondack (Todd Czepiel - Jeremy
Youngs) 153
1999: New York Mills (John Semeniak -
Anthony Ross) 154
1998: Ilion (John Pezdek - Eric Wallace)
1997: Waterville (Jordan Keshler - Zach
Center State Conference Tournament - 2012 at Skenandoa Golf Club
ABOVE: West Canada Valley's Bobby Davenport chips to the 9th
green during Friday's Center State Conference Medalist
Tournament at Skenandoa Golf Club in Clinton. Davenport shot a
3-over-par 75 to win individual honors.

BELOW: Sauquoit Valley head coach Greg Bushinger holds the
team trophy after seniors, Ryan Stalker (left) and Trevor Hash
(right) shot a combined 160 to win the team championship.
Ilion's Dan North tees off on the 1st hole. North shot 81 Friday to tie
for fourth place.